Progress, slow but sure…

Just so you know I haven’t given up blogging after my 4th day, I want to tell you that I am making progress, today, slow but sure:

  •  I have added my “Press This” button to my Favorites bar.  I now just press (click on) the “Press This” button to capture and then post a text or video clip from a web site that I happen to be on, into my blog site.  Nice.  I haven’t done it yet but I’m set up.  I think.
  •  Well!   In addition to this, I have discovered how to display the links I have been creating but which were not posting on my blog. ( I was wondering where they went.) What I had to do was:  create a Links WIDGET (yes, that’s what they call it) and then my new links would be displayed, and they were.  This list of links was listed as a Blogroll.  I don’t like the name.  But maybe I can rename it…

I don’t know why wordpress.com(wp) doesn’t give more “features” (such as bold, italicize, strikethrough, bullet points, left adjust, etc.) in the writing and modifying of the blogger’s TEXT.  For example, I am surprized wp doesn’t give an UNDERLINE feature.  So, without this feature, instead, I make it bold, as you see throughout this blog.  Perhaps there is a way to find this feature or add other features to the toolbar.  I haven’t found it yet.  (Right clicking doesn’t work.)  I will probably call my genius daughter and ask her about this, since she is an accomplished freelance writer, editor and blogger. She will probably tell me, “There are no more ‘features,’  so buck up and deal with it!”   Her blog is entitled  “Everyday Extraordinary,” (and Andrea Bailey Willits is an extraordinary woman).   Her blog may be accessed at http://andreabailey.wordpress.com.   It will be added to my Blogroll.

God bless you all, and don’t give up!

Your new blogger,

Mike Bailey

2 responses to this post.

  1. Mike, Found your blog from the republican newsletter left on my doorstep 🙂

    The web does have an underline code but I’m not sure how wordpress.com does it. However, most people don’t use the underline because links are automatically underlined and your readers may try to click on underlined words that are not links…and this can lead to a frustrating user experience.

    Keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Jessie! You made my day! (seriously) I now understand why there is no UNDERLINE code. I will probably ask wordpress.com about this but I think their answer will be just what you said…they don’t want people to think the underlined words are a link to a website or blog or email. Thanks again. You are the first to comment on one of my blog posts.
      Mike Bailey

      Reply

Leave a Reply

